31 May Ireland – Day 10 (step back)

On the drive from Belfast to Dublin, I was thinking how Ireland doesn’t feel like a place I visit.  It feels like a place I live… once a year.  I miss Europe being novel, but I’ll take that for how comfortable I feel here.

I was thinking about everything I’ve learned here, and what I really want the students to remember.  So much of the material is a smattering of new research, and perspectives.  

Listed below is a compilation of all the references I have mentioned during my discussions with the students.  I think these are a great place to start to know thyself when determining, “For whose good do I serve?”

  1. Five Dysfunctions of a Team – http://www.tablegroup.com/books/dysfunctions
  2. Authentic Leadership – https://hbr.org/2007/02/discovering-your-authentic-leadership
  3. How do you motivate employees? https://hbr.org/2003/01/one-more-time-how-do-you-motivate-employees
  4. Feed-Forward – http://www.marshallgoldsmithlibrary.com/cim/articles_display.php?aid=110
  5. Emotional Intelligence – http://www.ihhp.com/free-eq-quiz/
  6. The Power of Why – http://www.ted.com/talks/simon_sinek_how_great_leaders_inspire_action?language=en
  7. Adversity Quotient – http://www.peaklearning.com/aq-you_basics.php
  8. Theory of “grit” as a predictor of success – http://www.ted.com/talks/angela_lee_duckworth_the_key_to_success_grit?language=en
  9. The Confidence Gap  – http://www.theatlantic.com/features/archive/2014/04/the-confidence-gap/359815/
  10. Here’s Why Founders Should Care about Happiness – http://firstround.com/review/Heres-Why-Founders-Should-Care-about-Happiness/
  11. Risk – http://www.fastcompany.com/3044319/when-is-it-worthwhile-to-take-a-big-risk
  12. Bosses…
  13. 8 things the world’s most successful people all have in common – http://theweek.com/articles/447392/8-things-worlds-most-successful-people-all-have-common
  • Stay busy
  • Just say no
  • Know what you are
  • Build networks
  • Create good luck
  • Have grit
  • Make awesome mistakes
  • Find mentors
 ~~~~~~~~~~~~
We drove from Belfast and visited a brand new distillery in Dublin, which was developed by Jack Teeling – one of our guest speakers from last week.IMG_3793
And here are the student blogs to follow:
  1. Meimei Huang – http://meimeihuang.wordpress.com
  2. Courtney Fronk – irelandmaymestercudenver.tumblr.com
  3. Alex Hardie – alexgoestoireland.wordpress.com
  4. Emily Ridder –  irelandcla.wordpress.com
  5. Tamara Hummer – tammy3559594.wordpress.com
  6. Anna Curtis – http://bananaineurope.weebly.com
  7. Amber Wofford – http://alwirelandexperience.blogspot.com/?m=1
  8. Hunter Quinn – https://hunterquinn.wordpress.com
  9. Cece Shepherd –  ceceshepherd.tumblr.com
  10. Dane Grashuis –  dgrashuis.wordpress.com
  11. Gabbi Briones – https://intb6028.wordpress.com
  12. Sydney Barritt – ireland55sb.wordpress.com
  13. Mike Cerbo – www.Cerbom.tumblr.com
No Comments

Post A Comment